Help (FMF)

Help. I’m lost.

There is a scene in the movie Lilo and Stitch (which, if you couldn’t tell by my avatar, is a favorite movie of mine) where Stitch sits all alone and realizes he is alone and cries out for help. It is only because he has realized that Lilo does have a family that he realizes that he does not. Not only that, but he also comes to see a family as something essential that he is lacking.

Stitch

It takes a lot to say that. How many times do we not say it because we don’t realize we need it?  How many times do we think we are fine because we have never seen that we are not?

“What a wretched man I am! Who will save me from this dying body? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord!…”

Romans 7:24-25a

Five-Minute-Friday-4

 

Five Minute Friday is a link-up where you free write for 5 minutes on the topic. This week’s topic is Help. Find other blogger’s interpretations here.

Where do we get this idea of “help”? Why do we ask? Why do we give it?

3 thoughts on “Help (FMF)

  1. Yes! God made us to be in community with others. With family. Our Christian family, still imperfect at times but I for one am so grateful! I’m gonna confess I haven’t seen the movie but I’m putting it on my list now (imagine my face all crumple up as I type that because I know I probably should have). I’m your FMF neighbor this week

    Like

    1. Sometimes the imperfectness of each other can be a relief since I struggle with my flaws too. I am amazed and grateful that God made us all to be family. Enjoy the movie- lol! Glad you could stop by.

      Like

  2. You got me right in the heart here, dude. This is why I became a mercenary (oops, ‘security contractor’)…so I could go where ‘policy’ feared to tread and answer the cry of ‘Help!’ in a ferociously kinetic way. It made me into Not A Very Nice Person, but no apologies. I answered the call, and will again tomorrow, even though I carry a terminal illness. Let the bell ring. I will go.

    ‘Help!’ cuts through everything. Cowboy up, prepare to die, and go in. No one gets left behind. It’s the only thing worth living for, and the only thing I can offer to my God.

    Thank you for writing this post, and for reading this comment.

    #1 at FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2016/07/your-dying-spouse-184-circle-of-help-fmf.html

    Like

Thoughts?

