Dwell (FMF)

Terrorist attacks, holiday sales, gifts to buy, cards to write, refugees, riots, injustice, political debates…

rush rush hurry

Don’t we talk about this every year- the forgetting to slow and dwell and be grateful? Do we never learn? Never remember?

Maybe that is why we have thanksgiving every year instead of every big numbered anniversary (like the 400th year the pilgrims landed). Think about it.

In the daily list and media fed frenzy, I forget.
I forget to dwell.
I forget to enjoy the kiddos we have in our home while they are here.
I forget how precious the time the kiddos and I have together is.

So when I remember I slow down; restart. Remember to dwell with them. Live, laugh, read the same book over and over changing to a British accent because I cannot stand to listen to my own voice saying the same words over again.

I don’t dwell on my mistake of forgetting. That would be wasting the time I’ve been given to love them while they dwell in my life.


 

Five-Minute-Friday-4

Five Minute Friday is a link-up where you free write for 5 minutes on the topic. This week’s topic is Dwell. Find other blogger’s interpretations here.

Now does anyone have any other tips for when a little kid wants you to read the same story again…and again…and again?

3 thoughts on “Dwell (FMF)

  1. It is often easy to forget to be thankful in the rush, especially in the holiday season, when we are supposed to be remembering all we should be thankful for. But we have each new day (and sometimes each new hour!) to start again – that is something to be thankful for! As for reading the same book over and over again – when you were a toddler, your favorite book had to do with buttons – I don’t recall the name. Every time you came to our house you would get it for me to read to you. I got so tired of it that I hid it under the couch! Sorry, that’s all I have for you!ha

    Like

Thoughts?

