Loving as a Tax Collector

It hit me, but only after the words had left my mouth. That is usually when I realize things; you know, the worse possible moment.

I was being harsh to my sister. Words I had said throughout the day ran through my mind. I had been harsh to most of my family. Why? They were being abundantly caring and kind. In each instance, they had done nothing to deserve my harsh words.

What we had talked about at church struck me. It was Matthew 5 were Jesus says “If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that?”. Nice, I thought. I am not even as loving as a tax collector.

Wait; in the same chapter it says something about loving your brothers. The first part is not good. Verses 21-22 compare being angry at a brother or sister to murder! Luckily, it goes on with a remedy for if (or when) you have sinned against a brother or sister. The solution: go and be reconciled. Go, even if you are in the middle of doing some wonderful churchy project. Go, even if they have not apologized for what they are at fault for. Go and reconcile your relationship.

So I did. I apologized to my sister for how harsh I have been to her. “I don’t want to hurt you. I love you.”

Now I just have to remember before the words leave my mouth.

Thoughts?

